top of page
  • verdantcore

Why is Mausritter such a lovely setting?

I just realised one of the things that I'm really loving about Mausritter. Because the setting is based on the actual world sort of, it means that I have so many reference points.


When the party met some newts, I can check out newts on Wikipedia and as a species they grow out of what I discover. Newts can regenerate body parts, so I can assume that they can provide a salve that will regenerate the hand of a wounded mouse. When we talk about how the player mice will write some information down to share with others, I know that paper is expensive, so what do country mice do? Googling alternatives to paper, I find out that birch bark is a thing, and now we've got a way for mice to find something to write on. At the same time, because birch bark is useful for many things and is gathered at a specific time of year, so when Konrad*, suggests it would be a community event it makes absolute sense. How cool is that? Now we've got a community birch-harvest and a celebration for the village at the end of it. (With fermented birch sap, of course).


Don't get me wrong, I'm still a fan of dragons, goblins, kobolds and lizard men, but there are so many hooks to hang a game of Mausritter off exactly because it's close to the real world, so there are lots of resources for research.


*Konrad Danger is one of the excellent mice I have the absolute pleasure of entertaining.

48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page